1-541-345-3333 info@oregonattorney.com

 Eugene Criminal Defense Attorneys – Shoplifting Charges

Shoplifting may seem a minor crime but the charges faced for doing so are quite real. Hiring a qualified Eugene criminal defense lawyer can make all the difference in your case. At Veralrud and Fowler we have experience successfully defending our clients against shoplifting charges. We highly recommend seeking a Eugene lawyer to guide you through the legal process and we would be honored to do so. Below we have sought to answer some of the most prevalently asked questions concerning shoplifting and its penalties.

What are the different forms of shoplifting?

Shoplifting is clearly defined as taking or attempting to take something from a store that does not belong to you. However there are forms of shoplifting that are less obvious. If you alter a price tag in order that you pay a lower amount for a product it would be considered shoplifting. Removing security tags or other theft prevention devices also qualifies as shoplifting. Even the attempted removal of these is considered illegal. Even removing an item from its packaging is a chargeable offense.

If you or a loved one is facing shoplifting charges it’s time to hire a Eugene criminal defense attorney from Veralrud and Fowler. We have years of experience successfully combating shoplifting charges for our clients.

What kinds of shoplifting charges are there? What penalties could I be facing in Eugene?

In Oregon shoplifting is classified as theft and there are multiple classifications, each based on the severity of the crime.  The amount that was stolen is taken into consideration. The greater the monetary value of the stolen merchandise the more severe the charge. Shoplifting can end up being a felony charge if the amount stolen is great enough. Below are the classifications of shoplifting and the penalties they come with.

Theft in the third degree – Items stolen worth $100 or less – Class C Misdemeanor – Up to 30 days of jail time and/or $1,250 fine.

Theft in the second degree – Items stolen worth between $100-$1,000 – Class A Misdemeanor – Up to a year in jail and/or a fine of $6,250.

Theft in the first degree – Items stolen worth more than $1,000 – Class C Felony – Up to five years in jail and/or $125,000 fine.

Aggravated theft in the first degree – Items stolen worth $10,000 or more – Class B Felony – Up to 10 years of jail time and/or a fine of $250,000.

The penalties for shoplifting can be quite severe. There is no reason to face these charges without the aid of an experienced attorney in Eugene Oregon. At Veralrud and Fowler we would be honored to represent you.

Can I be sued for shoplifting?

In addition to any legal charges you may face the owners of the stolen merchandise can sue. Adult shoplifters can be sued for the value of the items they stole up to $500. If you are the parent of a juvenile that has stolen you can also be sued. The amount that can be sought is the value of the items stolen up to $250. Parents and guardians are legally responsible for the juveniles in their care, and therefore, can be held liable for their actions.

If you or a loved one is facing shoplifting charges or a civil suit it’s time to a hire a Eugene criminal defense lawyer. It is the job of your Eugene attorney to provide you with the very best legal defense and not just any Eugene attorney will do. At Veralrud and Fowler we will fight tirelessly for you. Our years of experience with shoplifting cases uniquely qualify us to defend you. Call us today and rest easy knowing your case in qualified hands.

Related Topics:  Know Your Rights in Oregon Meet Our Attorneys Read Our Reviews

Give Us a Call at 541-345-3333 for a Free Consultation About Your Case or Send Us an Email Below

975 Oak Street, Suite 798

Eugene, OR 97401

Phone  (541) 345-3333
Fax  (541) 342-1908

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message