1-541-345-3333 info@oregonattorney.com
Slide background

We Will Fight for Your Rights

Call Today and Let Veralrud & Fowler Fight for You!

Eugene Criminal Lawyers 97401- Measure 11 Major Felony FAQ

Navigating the legal realm of Measure 11 major felonies can be both confusing and scary. Here at Veralrud & Fowler, our Eugene attorneys and Eugene lawyers are dedicated to navigating you through these intimidating waters. Below we have sought to answer some of the most prevalent frequently asked questions concerning these felonies.

What major changes did Oregon Measure 11 bring about?

eugene-oregon-criminal-defense-attorneys-97403-glenwoodMeasure 11 brought about to two major changes to the Oregon justice system. First, 15, 16, and 17 year old offenders must be charged as adults. This means that the sentences they face would be equal to that of an adult who has committed the same offense. Before Measure 11 was passed it was rare, but possible for a juvenile to be charged as an adult. It usually only occurred when the offense was deemed to be particularly heinous and deserving of more severe consequences. These instances were the exception to the rule until Measure 11 came into effect.

The second change was the length of minimum sentences. The minimum sentences were extended and unable to be pled down. Someone found guilty of a Measure 11 offense is required to serve the now much longer minimum sentence without the possibility of early parole due to good behavior.

It is now more important than ever that you retain the best Eugene lawyers or Eugene attorneys to defend you in court. Veralrud & Fowler’s dedication to their clietns and years of experience us the best Eugene Oregon attorneys for the job.

What are the Measure 11 felonies and what are their minimum sentences in Eugene?

Below is a list of Measure 11 felonies and their minimum sentences:

Murder – 25 years

First degree manslaughter – 10 years

Second degree manslaughter – 6 years, 3 months

First degree assault – 7 years, 6 months

Second degree assault – 5 years, 10 months

First degree robbery – 7 years, 6 months

Second degree robbery – 5 years, 10 months

First degree kidnapping – 7 years, 6 months

Second degree kidnapping – 5 years, 10 months

First degree rape – 8 years, 4 months

Second degree rape – 6 years, 3 months

First degree sodomy – 8 years, 4 months

Second degree sodomy – 6 years, 3 months

First degree unlawful sexual penetration – 8 years, 4 months

Second degree unlawful sexual penetration – 6 years, 3 months

First degree sexual abuse – 6 years, 3 months

Using a child in a display of sexually explicit conduct – 5 years, 10 months

Compelling prostitution – 5 years, 10 months

Aggravated vehicular homicide – 20 years

Each of these crimes holds lengthy minimum sentences. Should you or a loved one be charged with one of these felonies, call Veralrud and Fowler immediately. Our highly experienced attorneys in Eugene, Oregon have a reputation for dedication and success dealing with criminal defense cases.

Is it possible to minimize my prison time?

For the lesser Measure 11 felonies, it can be possible to have a lesser sentence than the minimum mandatory sentence. However, most Measure 11 offenses cannot have their sentence reduced due to the severity of the crime. In most cases, when convicted of one of these felonies, the guilty will have to serve at least the minimum mandatory sentence.

Frequently, the prosecution will offer the defendant a plea bargain before going to trial. If the defendant is willing to plead guilty, they can instead be convicted of a lesser crime that has a shorter minimum sentence. However, most plea bargains for Measure 11 felonies do not allow for probation. The defendant will have to serve the minimum sentence for the less serious crime they pled guilty to.

It is highly important that you seek the best Eugene attorney and Eugene lawyers as your legal representation. Your attorney can make all the difference in a ruling of guilty or not guilty. Place your trust in Veralrud & Fowler today.

What is bail set at for an Oregon Measure 11 offense?

Due to the severity of Measure 11 felonies, the bail is most often set at $250,000. It is possible to decrease bail by seeking a bail reduction hearing. Should the judge find cause to lower bail, the least it can be set to is $50,000, which is still a quite sizeable sum. Oregon, unlike many other states, does not practice the bail bond system. In order to be released on bail, the defendant needs to post, at minimum, 10% of the bail. After the case comes to an end, the bail money will be returned to the person who posted it. If there are outstanding trial costs, such as court fees, fines and even overdue child support, it will be taken from the bail money.

It is vital that, should you be accused of committing a Measure 11 felony, you seek the right attorney in Eugene, Oregon to take on your case. At Veralrud & Fowler we can successfully represent you.

What should I do if I am or my family member is placed under arrest for a Measure 11 major felony in the Eugene area?

The answer is simple. Seek immediate legal representation. Once placed under arrest, it is crucial that you hire an attorney in Eugene, Oregon to represent you immediately. At Veralrud & Fowler we will give you the very best legal advice for you unique case. With our years of experience in criminal defense cases we are well qualified to represent you through every step of the legal process. Our attorneys are highly skilled and will guide you through every step of the legal process.

The legal process can be long and complex, especially when accused of a major felony. The Eugene Oregon attorney you hire can make all the difference in your case. Our Eugene attorneys and Eugene layers are experience is both trial case and settlements with a high rate of success. With experience on our team ranging from a past Lane County Deputy District Attorney to a former President of the Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, our staff is prepared to handle any criminal defense case, no matter the severity.

Should you or your loved one find yourself facing criminal charges there is no need to face the process alone. The Eugene attorneys and Eugene lawyers on our team can give you the very best in legal advice and defense. Don’t hesitate to hire the most qualified attorneys in Eugene Oregon. Call Veralrud & Fowler today at 541-345-3333 for a free phone consultation.

Give Us a Call at 541-345-3333 for a Free Consultation About Your Case or Send Us an Email Below

975 Oak Street, Suite 798

Eugene, OR 97401

Phone  (541) 345-3333
Fax  (541) 342-1908

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message