New Recreational Marijuana Regulations in 2017
In 2017, retailers will begin exclusively recreational sales of cannabis in Oregon. Since October 2015, persons over 21 have been able to purchase marijuana for recreational use from dispensaries operating under a modified version of the medical marijuana sales procedure authorized through the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) administrated by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA). Starting January 1st, 2017, exclusively recreational cannabis retailers will begin operating under the supervision of the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC). OMMP dispensaries who have been selling cannabis products will also operate under the supervision of the OLCC for sales to non-OMMP cardholders.
Recreational Marijuana Law Changes
What impact will these recreational cannabis law changes have on the Oregon recreational marijuana user? Since legal cannabis sales began in Oregon, cannabis consumers have been required to show identification in a waiting area separate from the sales floor. Anyone who has purchased recreational cannabis is very familiar with this process. Starting many places in January, the sales floor and the identification and credentialing area will be one in the same. This is due to differences in privacy and staffing requirements between the OHA-regulated OMMP program and the OLCC-regulated recreational cannabis structure.
Cheaper Cannabis is (Potentially) On Its Way
Since starting the emergency OMMP-based recreational sales program in 2015, recreational cannabis sales have been subject to a 25% stop-gap sales tax for the purposes of funding the bureaucratic start-up costs of establishing a clean-slate bureaucratic structure. Once OLCC-regulated exclusively recreational sales begin, the tax will drop to 17% with a provision enabling cities and counties to add up to 3% additional tax for a possible total tax rate of 20%. This means, for instance, a gram of usable cannabis with a base price of $10 and an after-tax price of $12.50 will retail for between $11.70 and $12.00.
You Can Buy More
OMMP-regulated medical marijuana dispensaries operated under certain sales limits during the emergency sales period between October 2015 and January 2017. Dispensaries were authorized to sell a quarter-ounce or 7 grams a day of flower under the old OHA system. Under the new OLCC system, they will be able to sell up to an ounce, or 28 grams to a customer per day. The old rules also limited the sales of recreational marijuana edibles to 15mg of THC content and one purchase per day. Now, the limit will be 100mg of THC per edible.
Oregon Defense Attorneys and Recreational Cannabis
Knowing the law is the first step to staying out of trouble. With cannabis in Oregon subject to rapidly-changing regulations, it can be easy to end up in a dicey situation without realizing it. Having an experience Eugene, Oregon defense lawyer like Veralrud and Fowler on your side is an invaluable resource when the complexity of 2017 recreational marijuana laws in Oregon becomes overwhelming. Don’t be uneducated. Cannabis is a serious substance, and Oregon is going to great lengths to make sure its sales and use in the State are regulated in a way that works for retailers and consumers alike. If you have questions about your legal status in regards to 2017 recreational marijuana law, it might be time to set up your free consultation with Eugene defense attorneys Veralrud and Fowler. They are working hard to stay on top of the cannabis law state of the art so you can go about your business worry-free. Call them today.