1-541-345-3333 info@oregonattorney.com

Eugene, Oregon Gun Law FAQ

Weapons charges and gun laws have become a hot topic in the United States. At Veralrud and Fowler each Eugene criminal defense lawyer in our firm is well versed on the laws surrounding firearms and the charges for breaking these laws. We have years of experience defending clients facing weapons charges and understand how to successfully defend against said charges. Many of our clients are unaware of the varying laws surrounding weapons and firearms. Below we have sought to answer some of the more frequently asked questions surrounding these laws and the consequences of breaking them.

How old do you have to be to own a firearm in Eugene, Oregon?

In the state of Oregon in order to own a firearm you must be at least 18 years of age. In order for someone under 18 to use a firearm they must have parental supervision. It is believed that until a person’s 18th year they lack the responsibility necessary to own and use a firearm. The dangerous nature of the weapon requires great responsibility and attention to ones surroundings in order to operate effectively and safely. Parents who wish to teach their children how to safely use different firearms absolutely have that right as long as they are supervising. Under the supervision of a parent it is believed by the state of Oregon that they will be able to safely use a firearm.

Can felons own guns in Eugene, Oregon?

In Oregon felons are not allowed to own firearms. Whether the felony was committed in Oregon or another state, felons are banned from being in possession of firearms. Under certain circumstances exceptions may be made for felons

  • If the felony charge has been expunged then the ban on owning firearms may be dropped.
  • The felony charge was ruled a misdemeanor at the time of judgement.
  • The felony is over 15 years old and it was not homicide or a crime involving a weapon.

Under these conditions the ban on firearms for a felon may be dropped. Felons so have the right to apply to have the firearms ban dropped. The type of crime that was committed has much to do with whether or not it will be approved. Those who have a felony drug charge without the presence of a weapon may be considered eligible to have the ban removed because they are not considered a danger to others. Felons who have other non-violent charges placed against them may also have the request to legally own firearms approved. It depends on the nature of the felony charge.

We highly recommend felons who are seeking to have their records expunged or the firearms ban against them dropped seek a qualified Eugene criminal defense lawyer. With a competent Eugene lawyer on your side the chances of success are greatly improved.

What other weapons are felons banned from owning?

In addition to being banned from owning a firearm, felons are also unable to be in possession of other weapons. Weapons such as:

  • Tasers
  • Daggers
  • Metal knuckles
  • Sandclubs
  • Switchblades
  • Slingshots
  • Blackjacks

These are all considered to be possibly lethal weapons, and therefore, felons are banned from owning them. If you are a felon seeking to have these bans dropped its time to hire a Eugene criminal defense lawyer. You may be eligible to have these bans dropped. The qualifications and process is similar to that of the firearms ban. Having a successful Eugene lawyer on your side will greatly improve your chances of having the bans placed against you lifted.

Is Oregon an open carry state?

Oregon is an open carry state. In Oregon citizens have the right to openly carry a firearm. The weapon must not be concealed and completely visible. Should you wish to carry a concealed weapon you must first acquire a concealed weapons permit. For more information on open carry in Oregon consult with a Eugene criminal defense lawyer from Veralrud and Fowler today.

What are the consequences for unlawful possession of a firearm in Eugene, Oregon?

Unlawful possession of a firearm is a serious offense and has a similar sentence. Officially, it is a Class A misdemeanor the consequences of which are a fine of up to $6,250 and up to one year of jail time. Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon has much steeper penalties of a fine up to $125,000 and up to a five year prison sentence. Felons face steeper fines and prison time because they have a past history of serious unlawful behavior and were banned from owning or possessing a firearm after being convicted of a felony.

If you are facing charges for illegally possessing a firearm it’s time to call Veralrud and Fowler. We will provide you with a Eugene criminal defense lawyer who will vigorously defend you.

Is it illegal to point an unloaded weapon at another person?

In Oregon it is illegal to point a weapon at another person, even if it is unloaded. Even if the act is in jest it is a punishable offense. Pointing a loaded weapon at another person is likewise illegal and has a more severe sentence than if you were pointing an unloaded weapon due to the more serious nature of the situation. A loaded weapon is extremely dangerous and has the ability to take a life. Pointing it at another individual is illegal unless it is an act of self-defense.

Should you be facing charges for pointing a weapon at another individual, we at Veralrud and Fowler would be honored to serve as your defense. The Eugene criminal defense lawyer you hire from our firm will provide you with excellent legal counsel and ensure that you are justly treated by the criminal justice system.

Hiring a Eugene Criminal Defense Lawyer

At Veralrud and Fowler we have years of experience serving as Eugene criminal defense lawyers. Each of our attorneys is dedicated to our clients and determined to provide the very best defense possible. No matter the criminal charges you or your loved ones may be facing we would be honored to provide you with a Eugene criminal defense lawyer from our firm. For unsurpassed legal counsel call Veralrud and Fowler today.

Give Us a Call at 541-345-3333 for a Free Consultation About Your Case or Send Us an Email Below

975 Oak Street, Suite 798

Eugene, OR 97401

Phone  (541) 345-3333
Fax  (541) 342-1908

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message